Sri Srikantheshvara Temple, Nanjangud, District MysuruGumbaz containing Tomb of Tipu Sultan, Srirangapatna, District MandyaAghoreshvara Temple, Ikkeri, District ShimogaGommateswara Statue KarkalaHoysalesvara Temple, Halebid, District HassanFortress and Temples on the Hill, Chitradurga, District ChitradurgaKallesvara Temple Bagali, District DavanagerePalace of Tipu Sultan Bangalore, District  Bengaluru Urban

1. Mobile App Development is under Process. 2. ASI Circle News :: Bengaluru News :: | Chitradurga News :: | Davanagere News :: Hassan News :: | Karkala News :: | Mysuru News :: | Shivamoga News :: | Srirangapatna News ::

You are here

Obelisk Monuments and Fort Walls near the breach, Srirangapatna

DISTRICT: Mandya; TALUK: Srirangapatna     
LOCALITY: Srirangapatna (Lat. 12° 26' N; Long. 76° 35' E)
APPROACH: AIRPORT: Bengaluru; RAILWAY STATION: Srirangapatna; BUS STATION Srirangapatna

Srirangapatna was the capital of the Mysore province under the Wodeyars of Mysore as well as Haider Ali and Tipu Sultan. To the north-west of the fort where the British troops were sucessful in breaching the fort is an obelisk erected in memory of Josiah Webbe, Esq. by Dewan Purnayya in 1804 AD.  Resting on a small platform, the pilastered pillar juts out with a conical top, which also contains a tablet on its eastern face.