Sri Srikantheshvara Temple, Nanjangud, District MysuruGumbaz containing Tomb of Tipu Sultan, Srirangapatna, District MandyaAghoreshvara Temple, Ikkeri, District ShimogaGommateswara Statue KarkalaHoysalesvara Temple, Halebid, District HassanFortress and Temples on the Hill, Chitradurga, District ChitradurgaKallesvara Temple Bagali, District DavanagerePalace of Tipu Sultan Bangalore, District  Bengaluru Urban

1. Mobile App Development is under Process. 2. ASI Circle News :: Bengaluru News :: | Chitradurga News :: | Davanagere News :: Hassan News :: | Karkala News :: | Mysuru News :: | Shivamoga News :: | Srirangapatna News ::

You are here

Lakshmi Devi Temple, Doddagaddavalli

DISTRICT: Hassan; TALUK: Hassan
LOCALITY: Doddagaddavalli (Lat. 130 25' N; Long. 750 53' E)

Doddagaddavalli was founded by Kullahana Rahuta, a merchant and his wife SahajADevi who got the temple of Mahalakshmi constructed in 1113 AD during the reign of Hoysala Vishnuvardhana (1106-1142 AD). It is the only example of the chatuskuta (four-shrined) order of temples built during the Hoysala period. On plan, the temple has four sanctums in the four directions,  each of which is connected by a sukanasi with the common navaranga. Of the four shrines, the east has an image of Lakshmi, the west has a Siva-Linga, the north has an image of Kali and the south one is devoid of any image now. All the towers, except that on the Lakshmi shrine (east) are of simple stepped pyramidal variety of the Kadamba Nagara type. The tower over the Lakshmi shrine is dvitala vimana topped by square sikhara and stone finial. Interestingly, all the four towers accommodate the mahanasa projection crowned by the earliest examples of Hoysala royal emblem of Sala striking a tiger. The entire structure is enclosed by a stone wall having a dwara mandapa with a porch from the south.