Sri Srikantheshvara Temple, Nanjangud, District MysuruGumbaz containing Tomb of Tipu Sultan, Srirangapatna, District MandyaAghoreshvara Temple, Ikkeri, District ShimogaGommateswara Statue KarkalaHoysalesvara Temple, Halebid, District HassanFortress and Temples on the Hill, Chitradurga, District ChitradurgaKallesvara Temple Bagali, District DavanagerePalace of Tipu Sultan Bangalore, District  Bengaluru Urban

1. Mobile App Development is under Process. 2. ASI Circle News :: Bengaluru News :: | Chitradurga News :: | Davanagere News :: Hassan News :: | Karkala News :: | Mysuru News :: | Shivamoga News :: | Srirangapatna News ::

You are here

Kalleswara Swami Temple - Bagali

DISTRICT: Davangere; TALUK: Harapanahalli
LOCALITY: Bagali (Lat. 14° 50' N; Long. 75° 44' E)

Bagali also known as Balgali during the medieval period, was an important agrahara right from the times of the Western Chalukyas of Kalyana who were succeeded by the Hoysalas and Vijayanagara. The main temple was constructed during the reign of the western Chalukyan King Ahavamalla in 987 AD and consecrated by Duggimayya. Inscriptionally the main deity is known as Kalideva. The temple, facing east, is constructed close to the embankment of huge tank of the village Bagali to its north. The temple on plan consists of a garbhagriha, an antarala, a mahamandapa with an entrance in the south and east, a huge open sabhamandapa, a shrine for Surya with an astylar mukhamandapa built slightly away from the main entrance, all in east-west orientation. A shrine of Narasimha with an antarala and a passage exists to the north of the sabhamandapa. The sabhamandapa is well-known for its fifty ornate pillars supporting the highly decorated ceiling. Of these twenty four pillars are constructed over the jagati provided with kakshasana. The temple is also known for intricately carved doorways. The eastern end of the sabhamandapa accommodates a couchant bull. There are eight shrines built around the main one. The late Chalukyan sculptures, kept in the mahamandapa of the temple, include Siva, Umamahesvara, Ganesa, Karttikeya, Surya, Anantasayana, Sarasvati and Mahishamardini. There are thirty six inscriptions in the temple assignable to the 10th -11th  century AD which record donations to the gods Kalideva and Narasimha.