Sri Srikantheshvara Temple, Nanjangud, District MysuruGumbaz containing Tomb of Tipu Sultan, Srirangapatna, District MandyaAghoreshvara Temple, Ikkeri, District ShimogaGommateswara Statue KarkalaHoysalesvara Temple, Halebid, District HassanFortress and Temples on the Hill, Chitradurga, District ChitradurgaKallesvara Temple Bagali, District DavanagerePalace of Tipu Sultan Bangalore, District  Bengaluru Urban

1. Mobile App Development is under Process. 2. ASI Circle News :: Bengaluru News :: | Chitradurga News :: | Davanagere News :: Hassan News :: | Karkala News :: | Mysuru News :: | Shivamoga News :: | Srirangapatna News ::

You are here

Three Jaina Temples of Stone in a Courtyard with an inscription - Mullur

DISTRICT: Coorg (Kodagu);
TALUK: Somvarpet
LOCALITY: Mullur, (Lat. 12° 40' N; Long. 75°55' E)

Click to View Map ::

  1. ISRO - Satellite Map
  2. ASI Map
  3. Google Map


This is one of the ancient Jaina sites in Kodagu. The inscription found here takes the antiquity of this place to the 10th century AD. It was the capital of the Kongalvas who were the feudatories of the Cholas around circa 11th century AD. The Jaina bastis are thdedicated to Parsvanatha, Shantinatha and Chandranatha Tirthankaras. Pocchabbe, the queen of King Kongalva II, got the bastis constructed during the 11th century AD. They are built in a row. The Parasvanatha basti has a beautiful image in Hoysala style seated in meditation on a padma-pitha below a serpent prabhavali. The Shantinatha and Chandranatha bastis to the left of the Parasvanatha basti are similar on plan. The images of Shantinatha, Chandranatha, Yaksha and Yakshi in the bastis are also of the Hoysala style. There are some inscriptions mentioning the Jaina pontiffs Sripala, Traividyadeva, and Ganasena Pandita.